Eric’s Detroit Zoo Blog (Weblog)


First Day Volunteering in the Australian Outback Adventure
November 19, 2007, 8:38 pm
Filed under: Australian Outback

On my way to the Outback, The Eagles were posing for me so I stopped by to say hi and take a picture.

Det Zoo Vol 111807 001

The Wallaby’s don’t usually do not hang out together so this is a rare treat.

Det Zoo Vol 111807 007

Here are the pictures of the Momma and the Joey, and a bit before Mom moved a tad towards me then, then charged me a bit. Then crossed the path with the Joey who ran in the Wallaby housing and when I was walking toward the entrance and was talking the other volunteer the Momma came around the back parameter and was on the side of the Entrance to greet me. When I finished explaining the volunteer , quickly went in the double door entrance and slammed the gate closed. She said she would take all our stuff to the exit and meet us there. I want to note the charge happened a bit after the picture taking (no flash) and was probably me standing there and looking at the Joey alot. I was standing as far away from her as I could while still staying on the path. Next time they are close to the ropes, I will definitely keep a bit more distance and move down the path towards the entrance by about 4 feet.

Det Zoo Vol 111807 011

Det Zoo Vol 111807 013

Feel free to use the Flicker side bar to see more pictures.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

